The varying degrees of geological, hydro-meteorological and biological disaster events across the Globe have been increasing at an alarming rate. It is attributed to tampering of the geophysical nature, change in the environmental conditions and result of over exploitation of economic resources besides urban suburbs in and around the vulnerable settings of the emerging urban center.

World Congress on Disaster Management (WCDM) is an initiative of DMICS (Disaster Management Initiatives and Convergence Society), which brings scientists, researchers, policymakers, and practitioners from across the globe together to discuss the challenging issues of Disasters and Risk Management. WCDM was started in 2005. It aims to initiate innovative practices, ideas and initiative on disaster risk reduction organizing global world congress on disaster management. The first WCDM was inaugurated by the former President of India Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, and all the six WDMs held so far at different parts of the country jointly in collaboration with the State Governments and Inaugurated by the Chief Minister of Respective States and Union Ministers of Government of India.

The WCDM-DRR Awards were given to various stakeholders who contributed immensely in various facets of the Disaster Risk Reduction. This year also after 6th WCDM-2023 held in Dehradun, organized jointly with the Government of Uttarakhand, WCDM-DRR Awards shall be presented in recognition of the services rendered to the champions for rendering their selfless service and bringing innovation in the area of Disaster Risk Reduction.


The award ceremony will be held in the month of August 2024, New Delhi in the presence of a large gathering of national and international dignitaries. These awards will be conferred on to those scientists, researchers, policymakers, practitioners and responders at different stages of DRR, who have excelled in their fields by way of bringing in new practices, improving the existing ones, upgrading the tools and skills of practitioners and innovating new ideas. In addition, those who during emergencies have displayed exemplary valor and courage to reach, rescue and save lives, livestock and properties will be specially recognized.

Nominations are hereby invited in the prescribed format attached from your good self.


The facilitation is envisaged to recognize and honour those engaged in the entire Disaster Management. The categories identified for the recognition and awards are:

1. Disaster Preparedness:
  • 1.1   Risk, mapping and analysis, harnessing new technologies and development of risk resilient infrastructure.
  • 1.2   Innovations in capacity development for preparedness, response and recovery.
  • 1.3   Innovations in Forecast and early warning system.
  • 1.4   Innovations in mitigation for climate change.
  • 1.5   Initiative approaches through research and development, in the areas of DRR, articles, books and best practices published in accredited journals.
  • 1.6   Resources, mobilization and logistics management during emergency and disaster.
2. Response during Disaster and emergencies:
  • 2.1   Natural Disaster
  • 2.2   Man-Made Disaster
  • 2.3   CBRN (Chemical + Biological + Radiological + Nuclear)
  • 2.4   Public Health Emergencies and Disaster Management.
3. Post-Disaster Recovery and Risk Management:
  • 3.1   Modelling and Innovations for Climate Change Adaptation.
  • 3.2   Approaches for community-based Disaster Risk Reduction(DRR).
  • 3.3   Innovations for Rapid Assessment for post disaster.
  • 3.4   Good practices for rescue and Rehabilitation.
  • 3.5   System Strengthening and Resilience.

4. Any other extraordinary contribution in addition to above mentioned categories of the DRR:

Nominations are hereby invited in the specified format from concerned individuals / departments / institutions, of the Government, Civil Society, Philanthropists, Academia, Scientific Community, practitioners and all other stakeholders engaged in the above fields.

Last Date for Nominations: 5th August, 2024

Nominations on the prescribed format attached may be sent by post or through email addressing to
The Chairman Jury
C44, LGF Neeti Bagh,
New Delhi – 110049
E-mail : mmkumar.j@gmail.com
Website: www.wcdm.co.in , www.dmics.org

Click here to download Nominations form.